Recherche

Research at the service of education

Research offers students situations full of opportunities to learn and acquire rigour and scientific curiosity, either directly in ESA’s Research Units or during field work.

Research and training, the link

Our Bac+5 study programme is partly based on the research carried out at the school and the school’s research units.

  • with the LEVA research unit: the major, “Plant Production and Agro-ecology”, the master in Agro-ecology in partnership with la FESIA, and the BioVIGPA master in partnership with the University of Angers
  • with the URSE research unit on livestock raising systems: the major in “animal husbandry: livestock raising and sector” and the Eurama Sc
  • with the LARESS research unit: the major in “Territories and Environment”
  • with the GRAPPE research unit: the majors in “Vine and wine: sustainable production and international markets” and “Processing, food and quality”, the Master International Vintage and the Master International Food Identity
  • with the BAGAP mixed research unit: the major in “Environmental Integration and Sustainability”

The links between teaching and research are also reflected by:

  • the participation of students in research projects or studies ordered either by professionals accustomed to calling on the expertise of the research units or directly by the research units. The students then work with the lecturer-researchers and are exposed to their exemplary methodology.
  • The dissertations at the end of studies, a certain number of which cover topics directly related to the concerns of the research units.
  • By the creation of businesses, another example of valorisation of research. This translates sometimes into business creation projects by students or even lecturers, which are directly related to the issues dealt with in the research units.

Doctoral education

Each year, some engineering and masters students continue their studies towards a doctorate. The research units also welcome doctoral students from other training courses.
ESA is part of the Université Bretagne Loire. The school’s doctoral students are registered with one of the partner doctoral schools.

What makes the teaching by the lecturer-researchers different?

By carrying out research the lecturer-researchers’ skills are improved in terms of posing problems, analysing results and discussing them. They then train their students in these “intellectual gymnastics” in, for example, how to resolve the technical problems of companies.
Research activities are also a way to refresh disciplines. For example, attendance at scientific congresses allows lecturer-researchers to gather the latest scientific news in the fields of their specialities and provides them with food for thought on the teaching programmes. Research therefore allows them to offer a teaching that is richer, closer to the current issues that arise in our professional sectors in the world.

Recherche

La recherche au service de l’enseignement

La recherche offre aux étudiants des situations riches d’apprentissage et d’acquisition de rigueur et de curiosité scientifique : soit directement dans les Unités de recherche de l’ESA, soit lors des travaux menés sur le terrain.

Une adéquation entre axes de recherche et formations

Notre offre de formation de niveau Bac + 5 est en partie basée sur la Recherche de l’école et sur ses Unités de Recherche (UR).

  • En lien avec l’UR LEVA : la majeure « productions végétales et Agroécologie, le Master Agroécologie en partenariat avec la Fésia, le Master BioVIGPA en partenariat avec l’Université d’Angers
  • En lien avec l’UR URSE sur les Systèmes d’élevage : la majeure « productions animales : élevage et filière », le MSc-mastère Eurama
  • En lien avec l’UR LARESS : la majeure « Intégration environnementale et Durabilité », le master AGtech
  • En lien avec l’UR GRAPPE : les majeures « Vigne et vin : production durable et marchés internationaux » et « Transformation, alimentation et qualité », le Master international Vintage et le Master international Food Identity
  • En lien avec l’UMR BAGAP : la majeure « Intégration environnementale et Durabilité »

Les liens entre enseignement et recherche se traduisent aussi :

  • Par la participation des étudiants à des projets de recherche ou d’études commanditées soit par des professionnels habitués à faire appel aux compétences des Unités de recherche, soit directement par les Unités de recherche. Les étudiants travaillent alors avec les enseignants-chercheurs et expérimentent leur exemplarité méthodologique.
  • Par les Mémoires de fin d’études dont un certain nombre porte sur des thématiques en lien direct avec les préoccupations des unités de recherche.
  • Par la création d’entreprises, autre exemple de valorisation de la recherche. Cela se traduit parfois par des projets de création d’entreprises par des étudiants voire des enseignants qui sont directement liés aux thématiques traitées dans les Unités de Recherche (UR).

La formation doctorale

Chaque année, quelques étudiants en Ingénieur et en Masters poursuivent leurs études par une thèse. Par ailleurs, les Unités de recherche accueillent aussi des doctorants issus d’autres parcours de formation.
L’ESA fait partie de l’Université Bretagne Loire. Les doctorants de l’école sont inscrits dans une des écoles doctorales partenaires.

Spécificités de l’enseignement par les enseignants chercheurs

La pratique de la recherche donne aux enseignants chercheurs une habileté renforcée à poser un problème, analyser des résultats et les discuter. Ils entraînent ensuite leurs étudiants à cette « gymnastique intellectuelle » y compris pour la résolution de problèmes techniques d’entreprises.
Les activités de recherche sont aussi sources d’actualisation des disciplines enseignées. Par exemple, la fréquentation des congrès scientifiques permet d’appréhender l’actualité scientifique des spécialités des enseignants chercheurs et de nourrir la réflexion sur les programmes d’enseignement. La recherche permet donc de proposer un enseignement plus riche, plus proche des thématiques actuelles qui se posent aux acteurs de nos secteurs professionnels dans le Monde.