Recherche

8 departments of 114 ESA lecturers (of whom 43 lecturer-researchers).

Agronomy and ecology

Fields of expertise: The Agronomy and Ecology Department of ESA has 15 lecturers and lecturer-researchers, who participate in the school’s various study programmes: Bac pro, BTS, Professional Degree and Engineering.

A large part of the training is devoted to field experiments and links with professionals. It aims to provide answers to the main challenges of tomorrow: reconciling agricultural production, land management, environmental protection and ecological services.

The issues covered in classes by the members of the department are:

  • Genetics (plant improvement), Biology, Plant Physiology and Ecophysiology
  • Agronomy: functioning of the three interactive compartments of the cultivated field, soil – climate – plant, under the influence of cultivation practices
  • Ecology and Agro-ecology (design and management of sustainable agro-ecosystems based on the use of ecological principles and concepts)
  • Evaluation of the sustainability of cropping systems (yield, economic productivity, working time, energy consumption, soil fertility, biodiversity, etc.) and the design of innovative systems
  • Global analysis of farm operations
  • Landscape ecology and the relationship between agriculture and biodiversity, from plot of land to the territory
  • Panorama of the living world
  • Agri-environmental regulations
  • Functioning and use of geographic information systems

The technicians and engineers thus trained are able to contribute:
– to the challenges involved in the necessary reduction in inputs (fertilisers, pesticides, etc.) and the impact of climate change on crop productivity by implementing innovative, efficient and sustainable production methods at the sector level
– to the promotion of a multifunctional development of territories
– to the protection and enhancement of resources and environments (water, air and soil).

Links with our research units:
USC ESA/INRA – Legume, Plant Ecophysiology and Agro-ecology Research Unit
BAGAP mixed research unit : Landscape & Ecology

Contact

Contact another member of the team

Culture, languages and communication

Fields of expertise: The Cultures, Languages and Communication Department brings together lecturers, lecturer-researchers and trainers with qualifications in literature, linguistics, philosophy, history, educational sciences, social sciences, information and communication sciences, business communication, documentation, foreign languages and FLE (French as a foreign language), multimedia, audiovisual, etc.
The team made up of forty people presents a great complementarity and focuses in particular on three areas: teaching, supervising projects and setting up training sessions.

Among its areas of expertise:

  • Language learning (general and specialised language – face-to-face and distance learning): English, Spanish, German, Brazilian Portuguese, Russian, Chinese, FLE
  • Mounting of induction sessions for international audiences
  • Creation of multimedia educational content and tools for self-study
  • Techniques of expression – Training in public speaking – Creative expression (writing, theatre)
  • Written and electronic communication (formal and editorial quality)
  • Professional facilitation techniques (conducting meetings, team management, conflict management, negotiation, etc.)
  • Theory of market and non-market communication (institutional and corporate)
  • Intercultural communication and management
  • Mastery of information and documentation
  • Analysis and problem-solving methodology
  • Radio creation
  • Internet marketing
  • Philosophy, History of art, Landscape history, History of science
  • Socio-cultural facilitation
  • Setting up of workshops in openness to other cultures

 Areas of interventions

  • Interventions at all levels of training (from Bac pro (vocational secondary school diploma) to Engineer), in the different formats: initial, continuous and distance
  • Interventions for the staff of the establishment in conducting training sequences
  • Involvement in the cultural life of ESA
  • The Department is a member of UPLEGESS (Union des Professeurs de Languages des Grandes Ecoles – Union of language teachers of the Grandes Ecoles) and regularly presents communications in the framework of its educational conferences)

Contact

Contact another member of the team

 Sociology, ecology and management

Fields of expertise: The department offers a mix of disciplines that enables students to understand better the economic and social context, as well as the managerial skills essential for managing and developing the organisations in which they operate.
The main areas of expertise represented in the department are agricultural sociology, agro-industrial economics and international economics, and major international issues related to agriculture.
The department has expertise also in the running of a company or an organisation in the agricultural sector, which relates to disciplines necessary for running a business or consulting: management, strategy, entrepreneurship, financial management, management control, agricultural management, marketing, communication, distribution, purchasing, sales, risk management, audit and advice, and law.

Areas of interventions: This department trains students in the economic, social and commercial sciences as applied to agriculture, the environment, agribusiness, the territories and the running of agricultural organisations.
Going outside of the strict framework of “sciences and techniques for engineers or senior technicians”, it provides the students with the knowledge of how and the tools to analyse the economy, society and the contemporary world, thereby enabling them to take decisions and act within agricultural sector organisations in a complex world, taking into account economic, social and environmental demands.
The approaches focus on fieldwork and the analytical tools for use and instruments for taking action within the sectors, territories and globalised markets.

Links with the research structures: 6 lecturer-researchers contribute to the work of LARESS (Unité de Recherche en Sciences Sociales – Social science research unit).

Contact

Contact another member of the team

Environment, plant and quality of life

Fields of expertise: The Environment, Plant and Quality of Life Department has eight permanent lecturers and lecturer-researchers, who participate in different types of study programmes at ESA (BTS, Professional Degrees, Engineer), whether full-time, distance learning or apprenticeship. It also profits from the expertise of many outside individuals.
Some of the members of this multidisciplinary team have a strong expertise in landscaping, both in the field of design and in the execution of a work site. These lecturers teach in the BTS and Professional Degree in Landscaping. They have professional experience within a design office or their own business.
The other part of the team, whose basic competences are in geology, biology and ecology, have solid expertise in the fields of environmental assessment, management and protection of environments, and the conservation of species. The lecturers are involved in BTS Management and Protection of Nature and the ESA engineering study programmes.

Links with our research units: The department’s lecturer-researchers are involved in research work and consultancy within the USC ESA/INRA – Legume, Plant Ecophysiology and Agro-ecology Research Unit.

Contact

Contact another member of the team

Animal husbandry

Areas of interventions: The Department ensures the basic and applied training of students (Engineers and Professional Degree) in animal sciences. It also works in companies in terms of continuing education, consultancy and technical studies.
Links with the research structures: All the team of the Animal Husbandry Department form part of the Unité de Recherche sur les Systèmes d’Elevage (URSE – Livestock raising research unit) of ESA.

Contact

Contact another member of the team

Food and Bioresource Sciences and Technology

Fields of expertise: The Department specialises in agri-food science and techniques, and participates in the training of executives (senior technicians, engineers, masters) exercising their skills in R & D, quality technical management and production management in agri-food. The team is multidisciplinary and has a wide range of expertise.
Areas of interventions: The members of the Department are involved in the BTS and Engineer study programmes, as well as in the Master International Food Identity, and in continuous training and education.

Links with our research units: The lecturer-researchers and research engineers of the department form part of the GRAPPE research unit (USC ESA/INRA – Groupe de Recherche en Agroalimentaire sur les Produits et les Procédés – Food-processing research group for Products and Processes) of ESA; They participate in research on the physiochemical, biochemical and sensory characterisation of fresh apples and grapes and the influence of technological processing processes on certain sensory and nutritional markers. Some of them are equally involved as a study-consultancy structure for companies on innovation support projects.

Contact

Contact another member of the team

Basic Sciences and Methods

Fields of expertise: The educational missions of our department are:

  • to provide students with the concepts and methods necessary for experimenting, analysing data and solving complex problems; and
  • to train them in the use of office and computer tools.

The Basic Sciences and Methods Department also provides methodological support to ESA research laboratories on aspects of sampling, data processing and modelling.
The know-how of the Basic Sciences and Methods Department is organised to meet the needs of companies in computer-aided decision-making and, more particularly, in methods for analysing situations and assisting in arriving at a decision. The expertise of the members of the department means that all the stages of the processing of digital information can be handled:

  • development of databases (collection, organisation and storage of company data);
  • implementation of suitable analytical methods (data mining, reporting, etc.); and
  • modelling of data.

The members of the department are involved in several ESA study programmes: Bac pro, BTS, Professional Degree and Engineering.

Links with our research units:

  • Two lecturer-researchers contribute to the work of GRAPPE (USC ESA/INRA – Groupe de Recherche en Agroalimentaire sur les Produits et les Procédés – Food-processing research group for Products and Processes); and
  • One lecturer-researcher contributes to the work of LEVA (USC ESA/INRA – Unité de Research Légumineuses, Ecophysiologie Végétale, Agroécologie – Legume, Plant Ecophysiology and Agro-ecology research unit).

Contact

Contact another member of the team

Viticulture and oenology

Fields of expertise: The areas of expertise within the Viticulture and Oenology Department enable us to meet training needs of students, the needs of companies and professionals wishing to deepen their knowledge and expertise in a specific field concerning French and international wine-growing sectors, as well as of any public audience wishing to get to know the vine-related and wine professions better.
All of the know-how of the team of lecturers and researchers in the department allows us to address subjects dealing with knowledge of the vine, its environment and suitable technical itineraries, the transformation of the grape into wine, quality, the economic and strategic organisation of the sectors, in conjunction with the “Economy and Social Sciences” Department, or the adaptation of markets to the needs of consumers, and the sensory analysis of wines.
The members of the department are involved in several ESA study programmes: Professional Degree, Engineer, Master International Vintage, Continuous training and education.

The department has developed a strong network of university partners in Europe and around the world, who regularly participate in the training programmes. Every year, it invites four international lecturers, each for three months.

Some members of the department act as experts within:

  • the OIV (International Organisation of Vine and Wine); and
  • the Conseil National Scientifique de la filière vin (National Scientific Council of the Wine Industry).

Links with our research units:
– Involvement of all of the team in the projects of GRAPPE (USC ESA/INRA – Groupe de Research en Agroalimentaire sur les Produits et les Procédés – Food-processing research group for Products and Processes) on the following issues:

  • Characterisation of the Quality of Grapes and Wine: research into objective and innovative descriptors
  • Methodologies with regard to the Sensory Analysis of Wines
  • Relationships between cultivation and oenological practices and the quality/typical features of grapes and wines
  • Sensory quality and perception of the typical features of wines by consumers

– Involvement of the team in the collaborative project of the Mixed Technological Unit Vinitera (INRA Angers/ IFV Val de Loire/GRAPPE)
– Collaboration on research topics with the Master International Vintage partner universities (Italy, South Africa, etc.)

Contact

Contact another member of the team

Recherche

8 départements regroupent les 114 enseignants (dont 43 enseignants-chercheurs) de l’ESA.

Agronomie et écologie

Domaines de compétences : Le département Agronomie et Ecologie de l’ESA est constitué de 15 enseignants et enseignants-chercheurs qui interviennent dans les différentes formations de l’école : Bac pro, BTS, Licences professionnelles, Ingénieur.
Les formations sont dispensées en accordant une large part aux expériences de terrain et aux liens avec les professionnels. Elles visent à apporter des réponses aux principaux défis de demain : concilier productions agricoles, gestion du territoire, protection de l’environnement et services écologiques.
Les thématiques abordées en enseignement par les membres du département sont :

  • Génétique (amélioration des plantes), Biologie, Physiologie et Ecophysiologie végétales
  • Agronomie : fonctionnement des trois compartiments interactifs du champ cultivé, sol – climat –plante, sous l’influence des pratiques culturales
  • Ecologie et Agroécologie (conception et gestion d’agro écosystèmes durables à partir de l’utilisation des principes et concepts issus de l’écologie)
  • Evaluation de la durabilité des systèmes de culture (rendement, productivité économique, temps de travail, consommation énergétique, fertilité des sols, biodiversité…) et la conception de systèmes innovants
  • Analyse globale du fonctionnement des exploitations agricoles
  • Ecologie du paysage et relations entre l’agriculture et la biodiversité, de la parcelle au territoire
  • Panorama du monde vivant
  • Réglementation agroenvironnementale
  • Fonctionnement et utilisation de systèmes d’information géographique

Les techniciens et ingénieurs formés sont ainsi capables de contribuer :
– aux enjeux de la nécessaire réduction des intrants (fertilisants, pesticides…) et de l’impact des changements climatiques sur la productivité des cultures en mettant en œuvre des modes de production innovants, performants et durables à l’échelle des filières
– à la promotion d’un développement multifonctionnel des territoires
– à la protection et la valorisation des ressources et des milieux (eaux, air, sols).
Liens avec nos unités de recherche :
UR LEVA – Unité de Recherche Légumineuses, Ecophysiologie Végétale, Agroécologie
UMR BAGAP : Paysage & Ecologie

Contact

Contacter un autre membre de l’équipe

Culture, langues et communication

Domaines de compétences : Le Département Cultures, Langues, Communication regroupe des enseignants diplômés en lettres, linguistique, philosophie, histoire, sciences de l’éducation, sciences sociales, sciences de l’information et de la communication, communication d’entreprise, documentation, langues étrangères et FLE, multimédia, audiovisuel…
L’équipe, forte de 14 permanents et 30 vacataires, présente une grande complémentarité et œuvre notamment sur trois axes : enseignement, encadrement de projets, montage de sessions de formation.

Parmi ses domaines de compétences :

  • Apprentissage des langues (langue générale et spécialisée) : anglais, espagnol, allemand, portugais-brésilien, FLE
  • Montage de sessions d’intégration pour des publics internationaux
  • Création de contenus et d’outils pédagogiques multimédia pour l’autoformation
  • Techniques d’expression – Formation à la prise de parole en public – Expression créative (écriture, théâtre, art oratoire…)
  • Communication écrite et électronique (qualité formelle et rédactionnelle)
  • Techniques d’animation professionnelle (conduite de réunion, encadrement d’équipe, gestion des conflits, négociation…)
  • Communication et management interculturels
  • Maîtrise de l’information et de la documentation
  • Méthodologie d’analyse et de résolution de problèmes
  • Philosophie, Histoire de l’art, Histoire du paysage, Histoire des sciences
  • Animation socioculturelle
  • Proposition d’activités d’ouverture culturelle pour les étudiants
  • Animation de sessions de formation pour le personnel (formation interculturelle, matinales pédagogiques)

 Domaines d’intervention

  • Intervention dans tous les niveaux de formation (du Bac Pro à Ingénieur), dans les différentes modalités : initiale, continue et à distance.
  • Intervention auprès du personnel de l’établissement pour l’animation de séquences de formation
  • Implication dans la vie culturelle de l’ESA

Contact

Contacter un autre membre de l’équipe

Sociologie, économie et management

Domaines de compétences : Le département offre un portefeuille de disciplines permettant aux étudiants une meilleure compréhension du contexte économique et social, ainsi que les compétences managériales essentielles pour gérer et développer les organisations dans lesquelles ils opèrent.
Les principaux champs de compétences représentés dans le département sont la sociologie agricole, l’économie agro-industrielle et l’économie internationale, les grandes questions internationales en lien avec l’agriculture.
Les compétences du département se situent également dans la conduite managériale d’une entreprise ou d’une organisation du secteur agricole, ce qui rapporte à des disciplines nécessaires au pilotage ou au conseil : management, stratégie, entrepreneuriat, gestion financière, contrôle de gestion, gestion agricole, marketing, communication, distribution, achats, ventes, gestion du risque, audit et conseil, droit.
Domaines d’intervention : Ce département forme les étudiants aux sciences économiques, sociales et commerciales appliquées à l’agriculture, l’environnement, l’agro-industrie et aux territoires et au pilotage des organisations du secteur agricole.
Débordant du cadre strict des « sciences et techniques pour l’ingénieur ou le technicien supérieur », il donne aux étudiants, les connaissances et les outils d’analyse de l’économie, de la société et du monde contemporain, leur permettant de décider et d’agir au sein des organisations du secteur agricole dans un monde complexe en tenant compte des exigences économiques, sociales et environnementales.
Les approches privilégient le travail de terrain et les outils d’analyse et d’action au sein des filières, des territoires et sur les marchés mondialisés.
Liens avec les structures de la recherche : 6 enseignants-chercheurs contribuent aux activités du LARESS (Unité de Recherche en Sciences Sociales).

Contact

Contacter un autre membre de l’équipe

Environnement, végétal et cadre de vie

Domaines de compétences : Le département Environnement, Végétal et cadre de vie regroupe une vingtaine d’enseignants et enseignants-chercheurs permanents intervenant dans différents types de programmes de l’ESA (BTS, Licence Pro, Ingénieur), en formation à temps plein, formation à distance, formation continue ou par apprentissage. Il bénéficie également des compétences de nombreux intervenants extérieurs.
Une partie de cette équipe pluridisciplinaire possède de fortes compétences en aménagements paysagers et horticulture : conception et réalisation de chantiers paysagers, agriculture urbaine, maraîchage, arboriculture, pépinières, fleurs. Ces enseignants dispensent leurs cours en BTS AP et PH et Licence Pro Aménagements paysagers. Ils ont une expérience professionnelle au sein d’un bureau d’étude ou de leur propre entreprise.
L’autre partie de l’équipe, dont les compétences de base sont la géologie, la biologie et l’écologie, se partage entre une solide expertise dans le domaine de l’évaluation environnementale, la gestion et la protection des milieux.

Liens avec nos unités de recherche : Les enseignants chercheurs du département exercent des activités de recherche ou d’études ou de consultances au sein de l’UR LEVA – Unité de Recherche Légumineuses, Ecophysiologie Végétale, Agroécologie.

Contact

Contacter un autre membre de l’équipe

Productions animales

Domaines d’intervention : Le Département assure la formation fondamentale et appliquée des étudiants (Ingénieurs et Licence professionnelle) en sciences animales. Il intervient également en entreprises pour de la formation continue, de la consultance, des études techniques.
Liens avec les structures de la recherche : Toute l’équipe du Département Productions Animales fait partie de l’Unité de Recherche sur les Systèmes d’Elevage (URSE) de l’ESA.

Contact

Contacter un autre membre de l’équipe

Science et techniques des aliments et bioressources

Domaines de compétences : Le Département est spécialisé en science et techniques agroalimentaires, et participe à la formation de cadres (techniciens supérieurs, ingénieurs, masters) exerçant leurs compétences en Recherche et Développement, management technique de la qualité et gestion de production en entreprise agro-alimentaire. L’équipe est pluridisciplinaire et couvre un vaste champ d’expertises.
Domaines d’intervention : Les membres du Département interviennent en formations BTS, Ingénieur, ainsi que dans le Master International Food Identity, et en formation continue.
Liens avec nos unités de recherche : Les enseignants-chercheurs et ingénieurs d’étude du département font partie de l’Unité de recherche GRAPPE (USC ESA/INRA – Groupe de Recherche en Agroalimentaire sur les Produits et les Procédés) de l’ESA ; ils participent aux travaux de recherche sur la caractérisation physico-chimique, biochimique et sensorielle des pommes et du raisin frais et à l’influence des process technologiques de transformation sur certains marqueurs sensoriels et nutritionnels. Certains d’entre eux sont également impliqués en tant que structure d’étude-consultance auprès d’entreprises sur des projets d’aide à l’innovation.

Contact

Contacter un autre membre de l’équipe

Sciences fondamentales et méthodes

Domaines de compétences : Les missions pédagogiques de notre département sont :

  • d’apporter aux étudiants les concepts et méthodes nécessaires à l’expérimentation, à l’analyse de données et à la résolution de problèmes complexes,
  • de les former aux outils de la bureautique et de l’informatique.

Le département Sciences fondamentales et méthodes apporte également un soutien méthodologique aux laboratoires de recherche de l’ESA sur des aspects d’échantillonnage, de traitement de données et de modélisation. 
Les savoir-faire du département Sciences fondamentales et méthodes sont organisés pour répondre aux besoins des entreprises en informatique décisionnelle et plus particulièrement en méthodes d’analyse et d’aide à la décision. Les compétences des membres du département permettent d’aborder la totalité des étapes du traitement de l’information numérique :

  • élaboration des bases de données (collecte, organisation et stockage des données de l’entreprise),
  • mise en œuvre de méthodes d’analyse adaptées (datamining, reporting …),
  • modélisation des données.

Les membres du département interviennent dans plusieurs formations de l’ESA : Bac pro, BTS, Licences professionnelle, Ingénieur.
Liens avec nos unités de recherche :

  • Deux enseignants-chercheurs contribuent aux activités du GRAPPE (USC ESA/INRA – Groupe de Recherche en Agroalimentaire sur les Produits et les Procédés)
  • Un enseignant-chercheur contribue aux activités du LEVA (USC ESA/INRA – Unité de Recherche Légumineuses, Ecophysiologie Végétale, Agroécologie).

Contact

Contacter un autre membre de l’équipe

Viticulture et œnologie

Domaines de compétences : Les domaines de compétences regroupés au sein du département Viticulture et Œnologie, permettent de répondre à des besoins en formation, à destination des étudiants mais aussi des entreprises et des professionnels souhaitant approfondir leur connaissance et leur expertise dans un domaine précis concernant les filières viti-vinicoles française et internationales, mais également à destination de tout public désirant mieux connaître les métiers de la vigne et du vin.
L’ensemble des savoir-faire de l’équipe d’enseignants et de chercheurs du département, nous permet d’aborder des thèmes sur la connaissance de la vigne, de son environnement et des itinéraires techniques adaptés, sur la maîtrise et les technologies de la transformation du raisin en vin, sur la qualité, sur l’organisation économique et stratégique des filières, en lien avec le département « Economie et Sciences Sociales », ou sur l’adaptation des marchés aux besoins des consommateurs, l’analyse sensorielle des vins.
Les enseignants du Département interviennent dans plusieurs formations de l’ESA : Licence professionnelle, Ingénieur, Master International Vintage, Formation continue.
Le Département a développé un fort réseau de partenaires universitaires en Europe et dans le monde, qui interviennent régulièrement dans les programmes de formations. Il accueille chaque année 4 professeurs invités internationaux pour 3 mois chacun.
Certains membres sont impliqués comme experts au sein :

  • De l’OIV (Office Intergouvernemental de la Vigne et du vin)
  • Du Conseil National Scientifique de la filière vin

Liens avec nos unités de recherche :

  • Implication de l’ensemble de l’équipe dans les projets du GRAPPE (USC ESA/INRA – Groupe de Recherche en Agroalimentaire sur les Produits et les Procédés) sur les thèmes suivants :
  • Caractérisation de la Qualité des Raisins et du Vin : recherche de descripteurs objectifs et innovants
  • Méthodologies de l’Analyse Sensorielle des Vins
  • Relations entre les pratiques culturales et œnologiques et la qualité/typicité des raisins et des vins
  • Qualité sensorielle et perception de la typicité des vins par les consommateurs
  • Implication de l’équipe dans le projet collaboratif de l’Unité Mixte Technologique Vinitera (INRA Angers/ IFV Val de Loire/GRAPPE)
  • Collaborations sur des thématiques de recherche avec les universités partenaires du Master International Vintage (Italie, Afrique du Sud…)

Contact

Contacter un autre membre de l’équipe